canadian council for international co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Board of Directors
Code of Ethics and Operational Standards
Programs / Strategic Directions
10-Point Agenda
Institutional Policies and By-Laws
Annual General Meetings and Forums
Annual Report
Karen Takacs Award


Karen Takacs Award


Karen Takacs Award

For women’s leadership in international development
Recognizing feminist advocacy & collaborative leadership in global cooperation

History & Overview

Karen Takacs was a celebrated and cherished leader of the Canadian international community. For over 20 years, Karen worked tirelessly to improve the lives and advance the rights of women and girls locally, nationally, and internationally. Karen was a catalyst for collaboration in the Canadian international sector. Throughout her life, Karen was admired for motivating and bringing people together around a common cause. By way of encouragement, generosity, and humour, Karen led by mobilizing and supporting others. Following Karen’s passing in 2015, the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) created an award to honour her invaluable contribution to the fight for social and economic justice, and to celebrate the unique collaborative leadership she demonstrated throughout her career, including her time as Chair of the Board of CCIC.  For the Canadian global cooperation community, the Karen Takacs Award is a symbol of feminism, collaboration, advocacy, mentorship, and resilience. 

The Karen Takacs Award is presented annually by the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) to an individual who has notably, by virtue of working collaboratively, made a difference in the lives of women globally.

The award honours outstanding collaborative leadership and commitment to promoting women’s equality through global cooperation.  The 2017 award winner will be honoured at the CCIC Soiree on May 9, 2017 in Ottawa, ON. The award winner will be given the opportunity to host a workshop to share her expertise and experience of feminist activism and collaborative leadership in 2017-2018.

 for Selection

To nominate someone for this award, please see the criteria below. Nominations must be received by APRIL 7, 2017.

In order to be considered for the award, a nominee must:

  • Identify as a feminist
  • Be Peer-nominated
  • Be making a meaningful contribution to global cooperation

In the nomination letter, the nominator is asked to demonstrate the following:

  • Evidence of the nominee’s contributions to feminist advocacy for women and girls
  • Evidence of how the nominee has made a difference by working collaboratively
  • Evidence of how the nominee has influenced or inspired her peers
  • Evidence of how the nominee has made an impact on global cooperation

Nomination Procedures

  • Two central nomination letters that provide an accounting of the nominee’s advocacy for women’s equality and collaborative leadership contributions and their impact collaborative leadership contributions and their impact
  • Links to websites and other documentation that describes and illustrates the nominee’s activist work and its impact (including testimonials from those benefiting from or witnessing the activism) will be useful to the committee
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae or resume
  • The candidate’s CV and all nomination letters should be submitted as one pdf attachment to Sara Thaw (
  • Receipt of nomination packages will be acknowledged with a brief email.
  • Nominator(s) of winner and the winner will be notified via email and on official letterhead from the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC); nominator(s) of non-winners will be notified via email
  • See nomination form here
  • Download the nomination criteria here

Expectations for Award Winner

  • Attendance at CCIC Soiree (May 9, 2017 – Ottawa, ON) to receive award
  • Serve on Karen Takacs Awards committee for 1 year, following the winning of the award
  • The winner will be invited to host a leadership relevant workshop in the following the year at which the award is presented (May 2017-2018).


  • 2016: Karen Takacs (received by her family)


  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment